Where do you find inspiration?

Lake SuperiorI’m not sure why, but my clearest thoughts, broadest visions and greatest flashes of inspiration come when I’m near large bodies of water.

Do you have a particular natural setting that opens these channels for you? 

For just five minutes (J5M) write about a natural place of nurture or sanctuary you have known, a place where you have found inspiration. Begin with a single object or sensory detail.

What?  So what?  Now what? – Full Circle Writing

I believe that each session of Transformative Writing  can offer us a gift, or the potential of “news we can use.”  The first five minutes probably covered the first of the three questions Full CircleWriting, the question of What. 

To extend the personal value of the writing you just did, write about the second phase, So what?  Here you explore the significance of the image or memory you wrote about to your life today. What might this be a reminder of or a link for deeper insight or understanding to something happening in your life now?  

Now what? This is the last phase of Full Circle Writing in which we examine the gift in what we’ve written and how we will use this gift to enrich this moment, this day, this particular time of life.

A Personal Example

WHAT? – There is a rose quartz boulder on the shore of Lake Winnipeg near Belair, Manitoba, Canada that is my naural sanctuary.  Larger than my old orange VW camper van, this rock was my place to stretch out and lie spread-eagle, completely surrounded by water with the upside down blue bowl of sky overhead, pine trees fringing the lake shore and waves lapping from my fingertips all the way to the horizon,  miles away.  I call my rock The Grandmother.  Here I was cradled, as if in my grandma’s arms.  Held tight, rocked, accepted, comforted.  Here I could cry, howl, laugh, ask questions and in the stillness, always the world began to make sense again, often with far-reaching visions of new possibilities. I could return to the shore buzzing with optimism, resolve, re-newed energy, or whatever I needed most.

One of the most potent, recurrent messages I received on a visit to The Grandmother were these words, “Now is the time for remembering. Now is the time for the exchange of gifts.”

The work I am strongly called to is building pathways to greater understanding, acceptance and peace; within, among, between and beyond people, especially in cross-cultural relationships.  This message brought several aboriginal elders into my life in ways that allowed for strong bridges to be crossed for many people, including me.

SO WHAT? – Today I am entering an new phase of my life.  I wonder what gifts I have to exchange with others?  What do I need to remember–or is it re-member?  I want to continue to add my energies to those of others who are creating a world in which it is safe to love and accept ourselves exactly as we are today, and in which it is safe for us to also love and accept others who are different from us in some perceived way.

NOW WHAT? – The moon outside my window is full tonight and so is my life.  My life overflows with opportunities to find sanctuary in moments of natual solitude–in every season.  This new season in my life cycle matches fall, a time of harvest, of bountiful memories and people who offer gifts that dazzle my senses. I embrace the gift of remembering and of exchanging my  gifts with those I encounter, however briefly, and I give thanks.

Joanne Klassen, Winnipeg, MB November 10,2011 8:58 p.m.

About life writing for transformation

Director of Heartspace Writing School, home of Transformative Life Writing with programs around the world. Changing lives, one writer at a time with unforgettable learning tools. Author of Tools of Transformation, Infinity Publishing 2004, Learning to Live, Learning to Love, (published in English, Greek and Russian) and many other books, anthologies and workbooks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where do you find inspiration?

  1. Visit lifewritingfortransformation.wordpress.com for life writing tips

Leave a Reply

